Annual Night of Honors

Naples Area Board of REALTORS® Honors Members at Annual Awards Night

NAPLES, FL (April 18, 2018) - Naples Area Board of REALTORS® (NABOR®) held its annual Night of Honors celebration on Saturday, April 7, 2018, at Naples Sailing and Yacht Club. Chartered in 1949, the 6,000+ professional member organization of REALTORS® in Collier County recognized the accomplishments of many of its members who volunteer their time and talents to better the organization, industry and community in 2017. (scroll to the end to see pictures from the event)

The highest honor - REALTOR® OF THE YEAR, which recognizes a member who has distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions in the community, and local, state, and national association level - was awarded to Rick Fioretti, who is the current Florida Realtor® District 5 Vice President. Rick has served on more committees at the local and state level than can be counted, and is currently campaigning to be the 2019 Florida Realtor® Secretary. Notable positions include: 2018 Professional Standards Advisor to the NABOR® Board of Directors, four-year member of the National Association of REALTORS® Board of Directors, 2017 NABOR® Humanitarian Award recipient, and 2016 President of the Naples Area Board of REALTORS®.

The evening's Master of Ceremonies was immediate past NABOR® President Dominic Pallini, who kicked off the evening with a warm welcome followed by past President Jo Carter, who read an invocation and led guests in the Pledge of Allegiance. Pallini's first order of business was to recognize 29 members into the NABOR® Honor Society, many of which were also added to the Florida Realtors® Honor Society. Honor Society members provide participation at the local, state, and national levels to include activity in NAR®'s institutes, societies and councils, designations earned; educational activities; and political involvement.



The prestigious Ad Miller Award was presented to NABOR® member and District 5 Collier County Commissioner William L. McDaniel, Jr. This NABOR® award recognizes an individual who works to enhance and/or preserve private property rights, ownership and transferability, and the preservation of the free enterprise system. McDaniel has been a NABOR® member since 1985 and opened his first real estate company in 1987.He is an 18-year member of the Board of Directors of the Goodwill of Southwest Florida is currently serving as chairman on the Real Estate and Strategic Planning Committees of Goodwill. He is the founder and current president of Corkscrew Island Neighborhood Association; served two years on the East of 951 Horizon Master Plan Committee; two years on the Rural Lands Stewardship Area Committee; two years on the Horizon Study Oversight Committee and three years on the Collier County Housing Authority. In 2016 he was elected to the Board of County Commission to serve a four-year term representing District 5. In 2017, within his first 12 months as Commissioner, he worked collaboratively with NABOR® to prevent two significant tax increases, resulting in a savings to homeowners in excess of 30 million a year, in perpetuity.




Pallini then presented the 2018 Hall of Fame Award to NABOR® member Wes Kunkle. The Hall of Fame award recognizes members who have exhibited extraordinary dedication and service over 20 years of membership in NABOR®. In addition to being the NABOR® President in 2013, Kunkle is a past REALTOR® of the Year and Commercial Achievement award recipient.





Mike Hughes, the 2016 REALTOR® of the Year award recipient, presented Rick Fioretti with the top award for 2017. Fioretti has been active in REALTOR® board activity since 1985 when he began his career in Maryland. He joined NABOR® as a member in 1999, and is currently the Florida Realtors® District 5 Vice President. In addition to being the NABOR® President in 2016 and currently campaigning for the 2019 Florida Realtors Secretary seat, Rick has also served his peers as:

Chairman or the MLS Committee
Chairman of the Professional Standards Committee
Vice Chair of Government Issues
Vice Chair of Mediation
Member of the Legal Resources Committee
Member of the Safety Task Force
Member of the Budget & Finance Committee 

Fioretti's leadership experience as a broker and former business owner is an asset to the many committees he shares his time with at NABOR® including as an Ombudsman. His contributions in this capacity did not go unrecognized and he has also earned the following accolades:

Florida Realtors® and NABOR Honor Society
NABOR® Humanitarian Award
NABOR® President's Award
NABOR® Educator of the Year Award
Task Force Contribution Award 

The Annual Night of Honors also recognized these NABOR® members with awards:

Affiliate/Allied Committee Contribution:
Larry Utterback

Affiliate/Allied Rising Star:
Stephanie Whiffen

Affiliate/Allied Member of the Year: 
BJ Cottrell

Citizen of the Year:
Paula Angelopoulos Urbinati

Educator of the Year:
Christina Davidow

Humanitarian Award:
Gwen-Davis Gideon

Leadership Academy Alumni Award:
Adam Vellano

REALTOR® Committee Contribution:
Perry DeSiato

REALTOR® Rising Star:
James Hinson

Task Force Contribution:
Tim Guerrette

Commercial Achievement:
Chip Olson 


The 2017 Night of Honors Founding Corporate Sponsor was Naples Daily News. Additional sponsors included Stock Development, Lake Michigan Credit Union of Florida, and Sandalwood Village.

Back to top